Linux : Ip Commands

Linux : Ip Commands

ifconfig : Display Current Config for all NIC’s.

ifconfig eth0 : Display Current Config for eth0.

ifconfig eth0 : Assign IP.

ping -c 3 : Ping.

ifconfig eth0:0 : Assign multiple IP’s.

ifconfig eth0:1 : Assign second IP.

ifconfig eth0 down : Disable network card.

ifconfig eth0 up : Enable network card.

route “or” route -n : View current routing table.

arp “or” arp -n : View arp cache.

ifconfig eth0 netmask : Assign IP/Subnet.

route add default gw : Assign Default Gateway.

traceroute : Trace Route.

tracepath : Trace Path.

host : DNS Test.

dig : Advanced DNS Test.

Note : Some commands will need root privilege, so better to Enter as Root to perform them all.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s